Matrox MXO User Forum Forum Index

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch         RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Artificial noise: capturing composite to A/V tools (MX0mini)

 
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Matrox MXO User Forum Forum Index -> MXO2 Family and Mojito MAX with previous versions of Adobe & other supported software (Windows)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gilimeisler
(MXO2 Mini)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:29 am    Post subject: Artificial noise: capturing composite to A/V tools (MX0mini) Reply with quote

Need your help!...
I purchased a few days ago the MX02 mini especially for capturing VHS tapes (I am using PAL) with composite, and I am very disappointed to find out terrible noise (looks like vertical lines all over the picture, almost in the whole frame). I checked with 3 different VCRs, and different cables, but that wasn't the problem.
I am using 32 bit windows7 (PC).
Many thanks
Gili
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gilimeisler
(MXO2 Mini)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 7:42 am    Post subject: Forgot to mention Reply with quote

The same result using MPEG2 or AVI Uncompressed.
Also, the problem appears already at the preview window, before capturing. Same result after capturing.
Last thing - I prefer using A/V Tools, don't need and don't have Premiere or other tools, unless it would solve this problem.
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matrox_Support_Sam
(Moderator)

Site Admin


Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 6881

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 8:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Can you confirm what version of Mtx.utils you are running?
Please note we do not support Windows 7 32-bit OS, only Windows 7 64-bit version.

Have you tried a different input connection? S-video, Component?
Can you try setting the Input Type in Capture Settings window to Consumer-quality Source?

Please let us know if this helps.
_________________
Regards,
Sam
Matrox Video Technical Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gilimeisler
(MXO2 Mini)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 10:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi
I can use composite only. I have a VHS deck (no S-VHS). I bought this card only for this purpose. I digitized other video material (Hi8) using S-video - it looks fine. But I need it for VHS (composite only).
I used 5.5 and uninstalled it and hoped for better result using 5.11. I changed settings to consumer, checked and unchecked the Gain, all looks terrible. I also changed from MPG2 to UNcompressed - nothing helped.
I must say I use 32bit windows 7. I don't believe this is the reason.
Thank you, I really need help here.
Best
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matrox_Support_Sam
(Moderator)

Site Admin


Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 6881

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 3:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Can you verify the Input Source in Capture Settings is set to Composite? What does the Composite signal display? OK, Disconnected etc..?

Does the artifacting occur on both Capture Window and external output?

When installing the Mtx.utils driver, have you made sure to unblock the exe file and disable UAC in Windows 7 settings?

Have you tried contacting your local reseller or dealer? They may be able to test another MXO2 Mini unit, in case of defective Composite connection.

We also may need to perform a remote session on your system for additional troubleshooting.
_________________
Regards,
Sam
Matrox Video Technical Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gilimeisler
(MXO2 Mini)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you so much for your help.
Well, there is a composite signal, no doubt about that.
Yes! The artifacting occur on both Capture Window and external output.
No, sorry - I guess I missed those instructions - while installing the Mtx.utils driver I did not unblock the exe file and disable UAC in Windows 7 settings - please let me have a link for instructions.
Best
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matrox_Support_Sam
(Moderator)

Site Admin


Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 6881

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 3:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Please make sure to follow these steps when installing the Mtx.utils software:
- uninstall the current MXO2 drivers
- download and right-click the Mtx.utils exe file and select Properties. Under the General tab, click unblock (at the bottom) if it is seen.
- Make sure the UAC option is turned off (set to Never Notify in Windows 7 settings) before running the MXO2 setup * may need to reboot
To disable UAC option or set it to Never Notify in Windows 7, please follow this link: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/975787
- Run Mtx.utils setup and then make sure a full reboot and power cycle is performed (after install is complete, shutdown PC, disconnect MXO2 Mini power for several seconds, reconnect power of MXO2 Mini and then power up the PC)
- re-enable UAC option if needed
Let us know if this helps.

Also, make sure all system updates have been performed for Windows, system BIOS, chipset, audio and graphic card drivers.
_________________
Regards,
Sam
Matrox Video Technical Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gilimeisler
(MXO2 Mini)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Will do it on Friday and let you know
Many thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matrox_Support_Sam
(Moderator)

Site Admin


Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 6881

PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2011 9:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Let us know the results whenever possible.
_________________
Regards,
Sam
Matrox Video Technical Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gilimeisler
(MXO2 Mini)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 11:28 am    Post subject: no difference Reply with quote

Hi
Reinstalled and did everything as you wrote - no change: same result for composite. S-video looks fine.
Thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matrox_Support_Sam
(Moderator)

Site Admin


Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 6881

PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 1:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried contacting your local reseller or dealer? They may be able to test another MXO2 Mini unit, in case of defective Composite connection.

Would you happen to have another system to test the MXO2 unit?
_________________
Regards,
Sam
Matrox Video Technical Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gilimeisler
(MXO2 Mini)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2011 12:49 pm    Post subject: Hi - News Reply with quote

I checked the card in other computer and there is no problem, so I understand that the computer's OS is not right.
Thank you for your help,
Gili
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matrox_Support_Sam
(Moderator)

Site Admin


Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 6881

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2011 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the update. Please let us know if you need further information in the future.
_________________
Regards,
Sam
Matrox Video Technical Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Matrox MXO User Forum Forum Index -> MXO2 Family and Mojito MAX with previous versions of Adobe & other supported software (Windows) All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

This board is protected by Phpbbantispam
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group