Matrox MXO User Forum Forum Index

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch         RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

mxo replacement

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Matrox MXO User Forum Forum Index -> Pre-Purchase for Matrox MXO2, MXO2 LE and MXO2 Rack
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
trifin
(MXO)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2011 5:39 am    Post subject: mxo replacement Reply with quote

Hi,

I currently use a MXO with a Apple 23" Cinema display to monitor my video edits on my mac pro machine. I edit using FCP7 and also FCP X.

I would like to transition to using my Mac Book Pro with its thunderbolt port and I want to monitor my video work (using the same Apple 23" Cinema display).

Which MXO2 unit would suit?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matrox_Presales
(Moderator)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 869

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2011 9:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello trifin and thank you for your interest in Matrox products. All of our Matrox MXO2 family of products allow you capture and playback HD and SD video via HDMI, analog component, S-Video, and composite Video. http://www.matrox.com/video/en/products/ While they also, execpt for the Mini, allow you to do the same with SD/HD-SDI. It depends on your needs. They all have the same procesing speed, you can add our Max technology to each http://www.matrox.com/video/en/solutions/encoding/ which allows lightning fast encoding to H.264, and they all are Thunderbolt compatible. Presently we support Final Cut 7 http://www.matrox.com/video/en/products/mxo2_le_max/software/ presently Final Cut X does not allow 3rd party monitoring http://www.matrox.com/video/en/products/mxo2_le_max/fcp_x/.

In regards to the 23" Apple Cinema Display, for some reason it does not play nice with our MXO2 family, depending on which model you have http://support.apple.com/kb/sp77 they do not have a natural resolution of 1920 X 1080. Also the only input they have is a DVI http://support.apple.com/kb/sp79, using a HDMI to DVI converter does not work with this product. We have our monitor requirements listed here: http://www.matrox.com/video/en/support/mac/mxo2/system/monitors/

regards,

JD
Customer Care
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trifin
(MXO)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2011 10:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks,

Can you recommend some monitors that are known to work well?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trifin
(MXO)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2011 1:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I heard NEC make decent monitors but none of them which are 1920x1080 have HDMI input just display port. Is this one ok? I see no mention of 1:1 pixel mapping.

http://www.necdisplay.com/p/desktop%20-monitors/ea232wmi-bk

Searching on Google comes up with loads of people looking for monitors for mxo2 but no answers. With the original MXO it was easy as basically the only monitor was an Apple 23" cinema display!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matrox_Presales
(Moderator)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 869

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2011 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello trifin and thank you for your continued interest in Matrox products. We have a few Sony Bravia's in our work area, we sometimes have A few Dell's and I had a Sharp Aquos for a few months this summer. Our monitors come in and out quite frequently. They all have the 1:1 pixel mapping. If you do not need the calibration utility the main this is to make sure that your monitor is 1080p.

regards,

JD
Customer Care
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trifin
(MXO)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2011 2:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. So it seems as though I can use a TV instead of a computer monitor.

I found this Sony Bravia which is a really good price and seems a quality unit:
http://www.sony.co.uk/product/tv-61-24-lcd/kdl-24ex320#pageType=TechnicalSpecs

Although no mention of 1:1 pixel mapping. Also these are the resolutions its displays:480/60i,480/60p,576/50i,576/50p,720/50p,720/60p,1080/60i,
1080/50i,1080/60p (HDMI? / Component), 1080/50p (HDMI? / Component),
1080/24p (HDMI?)

But most of my videos are 720/25p to 1080/25p. So I am unsure. Also will I be able to calibrate it with my calibrator?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trifin
(MXO)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2011 2:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. So it seems as though I can use a TV instead of a computer monitor.

I found this Sony Bravia which is a really good price and seems a quality unit:
http://www.sony.co.uk/product/tv-61-24-lcd/kdl-24ex320#pageType=TechnicalSpecs

Although no mention of 1:1 pixel mapping. Also these are the resolutions its displays:480/60i,480/60p,576/50i,576/50p,720/50p,720/60p,1080/60i,
1080/50i,1080/60p (HDMI? / Component), 1080/50p (HDMI? / Component),
1080/24p (HDMI?)

But most of my videos are 720/25p to 1080/25p. So I am unsure. Also will I be able to calibrate it with my calibrator?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trifin
(MXO)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2011 2:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. So it seems as though I can use a TV instead of a computer monitor.

I found this Sony Bravia which is a really good price and seems a quality unit:
http://www.sony.co.uk/product/tv-61-24-lcd/kdl-24ex320#pageType=TechnicalSpecs

Although no mention of 1:1 pixel mapping. Also these are the resolutions its displays:480/60i,480/60p,576/50i,576/50p,720/50p,720/60p,1080/60i,
1080/50i,1080/60p (HDMI / Component), 1080/50p (HDM / Component),
1080/24p (HDMI)

But most of my videos are 720/25p to 1080/25p. So I am unsure. Also will I be able to calibrate it with my calibrator?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trifin
(MXO)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2011 3:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

forget the last post - I am beginning to understand what is required. a dell ultrasharp monitor will do a much better job for a better price.

So can I run this:

Macbook pro to apple 27 thunderbolt display to matrox mxo2 then hdmi to dell display (would the laptop screen still work?)

I have the AMD Radeon HD 6750M 1024 MB video card in my macbook pro.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matrox_Presales
(Moderator)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 869

PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 9:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This workflow has not been tested by Matrox. If you want to come out of your MacBook Pro to the Matrox that will work just fine.

regards,

JD
Customer Care
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Matrox MXO User Forum Forum Index -> Pre-Purchase for Matrox MXO2, MXO2 LE and MXO2 Rack All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

This board is protected by Phpbbantispam
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group