Matrox MXO User Forum Forum Index

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch         RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Looking to upgrade from Axio LE CS3 to MXO2 Max CS5

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Matrox MXO User Forum Forum Index -> Pre-Purchase for Matrox MXO2, MXO2 LE and MXO2 Rack
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
GrahamRisdon
(MXO)

Guest





PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 4:43 am    Post subject: Looking to upgrade from Axio LE CS3 to MXO2 Max CS5 Reply with quote

A few questions...

1. Using the HDMI output, does the MXO2 scale SD content to fill the 1920x1080 size of an HD TV? If not, does this mean editing SD footage will be in a small letterbox in the cetre of the screen?

2. If you need to use matrox presets in order to view output on a monitor, does this reduce the file compatibility of PP CS5. ie PP CS5 supports lots of different HD formats (one of the main reasons for upgrade) - is this support reduced when using a Matrox preset?

3. Can a project contain matrox and non-matroix sequences? and can you cut and paste between the them?

4. Does the MXO2 switch off automatically when the PC shuts down?

5. Do you recommend a Xeon processor or will the i7 / Stalybridge be sufficient?

I think that's it for now... many thanks for your help
Back to top
Matrox_Presales
(Moderator)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 882

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello and thank you for your interest in Matrox products. I will answer your questions to the best of my abilities in the order they are asked.

1) It will upgrade the image to HD but it will not stretch the screen. If your monitor scans or scales the image it will fill the screen, otherwise it will have black bars on either side.

2)You do need a Matrox preset to view. There are many formats that are availible in the Matrox presets. If it is not there, the output is not supported.

3)A project can contain Matrox and non-Matrox sequences. You can edit as normal. Once outputted only the Matrox sequences will be viewed on the external Monitor.

4)The Matrox MXO2 and the MXO2 LE have power switches. You can power them off as you please. If they are connected to your computer they will, as well as the Matrox MXO2 mini, power off when the computer is powered down.

5)We do not give opinions on which processors to choose. I will leave this for other posters to give theirs.

regards,

JD
Customer Care
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guest
(MXO)







PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Many thanks - I'm going for a demo tomorrow so I'll see for myself!
Back to top
Matrox_Presales
(Moderator)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 882

PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 7:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am happy I can help.

regards,

JD
Customer Care
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Matrox MXO User Forum Forum Index -> Pre-Purchase for Matrox MXO2, MXO2 LE and MXO2 Rack All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

This board is protected by Phpbbantispam
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group