Matrox MXO User Forum Forum Index

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch         RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Is the MXO2 the right solution for this?

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Matrox MXO User Forum Forum Index -> Pre-Purchase for Matrox MXO2, MXO2 LE and MXO2 Rack
View previous topic :: View next topic  
CelebrationWeb
(MXO)

PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2009 2:30 pm    Post subject: Is the MXO2 the right solution for this? Reply with quote

I'd love some input on whether or not the MXO2 will be able to handle our desired workflow.

Let me explain our goal and our current setup. Keep in mind I'm an A/V newbie, so if I'm not using the right terms please guide me towards the light. Wink Or if you believe our workflow could be simplified, please share as well.

Basically our goal is to capture live video, make some simple edits and ingest that video into Adobe's Flash Media Live Encoder so that we can encode to FLV file in real-time*.

Will the MXO2 allow us to capture live video into FCP, make edits and then play back the timeline into our capture card (on a separate computer).

In my head, this workflow avoids having to save an intermediate file containing the edits from FCP.

So, is the MXO2 the right tool for the job? Are there better solutions?

Thanks for your input,
-Alex

* Some of you are probably wondering why we don't take advantage of the MXO2's MAX technology instead of FMLE to do the encode faster than real-time.

The short answer is that our capture card will let us capture and encode multiple files at once using the Flash Media Live Encoder. This lets us create a high, medium and low bitrate versions of our video in one pass.