Matrox MXO User Forum Forum Index

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch         RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

MXO2 causes hard crash during capture
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Matrox MXO User Forum Forum Index -> MXO2 Family and Mojito MAX with previous versions of Adobe & other supported software (Windows)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Matrox_Support_Sam
(Moderator)

Site Admin


Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 6879

PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2014 9:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the update. It is normal for a restart of the AV tools application once you change the Input Type setting. As for the MAX option, make sure you did not install MAX version, however, it should not matter for AV tools capture, only for Matrox H.264 Capture Application.

Did you capture for over 1 hour with PCIe card in slot 2?

It does seem thus far some type of incompatibility with the motherboard. Are BIOS settings loaded to default?
_________________
Regards,
Sam
Matrox Video Technical Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
antonsvideo
(MXO2)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2014 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Matrox_Support_Sam wrote:
Thanks for the update. It is normal for a restart of the AV tools application once you change the Input Type setting. As for the MAX option, make sure you did not install MAX version, however, it should not matter for AV tools capture, only for Matrox H.264 Capture Application.

Did you capture for over 1 hour with PCIe card in slot 2?

It does seem thus far some type of incompatibility with the motherboard. Are BIOS settings loaded to default?


yes, I managed to capture over one hour when card was in slot2 and then it hard froze

I forced a shutdown

then I moved the card to slot6 for testing and it had the hard freeze after just 2min of capture with using the consumer device capture option

mobo settings are at default

I will try another mobo shortly and report back
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matrox_Support_Sam
(Moderator)

Site Admin


Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 6879

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2014 9:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the update. Please let us know your results whenever possible.
_________________
Regards,
Sam
Matrox Video Technical Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
antonsvideo
(MXO2)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sat Dec 20, 2014 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

before replacing the mobo and spending days reinstalling and reactivating lots of software, I decided to try and inexpensive capture card, Blackmagic Intensity Pro and I have now been capturing VHS for the last 3 days without a single glitch

so it is obvious that there is a compatibility issue between Matrox and my X79 Xtreme 11

can anyone recommend an X99 mobo that is guaranteed to work with the MXO2, because X79 LGA 2011 is now getting harder to get because of the new LGA 2011-3 boards

I was thinking of the Asrock X99 Xtreme6 with 8core Intel i7 but before I do, I need proof that it would work
http://asrock.com/mb/Intel/X99%20Extreme6/index.us.asp
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matrox_Support_Sam
(Moderator)

Site Admin


Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 6879

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2015 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please see our list of System Recommendations along with Matrox tested systems:
http://www.matrox.com/video/en/support/mxo2/system/computers/pc/7.7.1/
http://www.matrox.com/video/en/support/mxo2/system/requirements/#pc

You can also post in our General Discussion section for additional user feedback.
_________________
Regards,
Sam
Matrox Video Technical Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
antonsvideo
(MXO2)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2015 11:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Matrox_Support_Sam wrote:
Please see our list of System Recommendations along with Matrox tested systems:
http://www.matrox.com/video/en/support/mxo2/system/computers/pc/7.7.1/
http://www.matrox.com/video/en/support/mxo2/system/requirements/#pc

You can also post in our General Discussion section for additional user feedback.


you only support 5 PCs that are ready built by Dell or HP, there is no way I will ever buy a ready made one when I build my own

I have removed the MXO2 and now use a BM capture card which works perfect

the MXO2 is available dirt cheap if anyone wants it, it is still under warranty, will be happy with 1/3 of its cost price
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matrox_Support_Sam
(Moderator)

Site Admin


Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 6879

PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2015 9:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

These are systems we have tested and validated however other systems may be compatible as most users build their own or buy other manufacturers. The mentioned supported systems are more of a guideline for users of systems we have tested. However, it is possible that a certain system or motherboard may not be compatible since it has not been tested internally.
_________________
Regards,
Sam
Matrox Video Technical Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
antonsvideo
(MXO2)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have now tested the MXO2 in my office PC which also has an Asrock mobo but only with quad core i7 and it captures fine all day

but on my editing PC which had the LGA2011 socket and hexacore processor, it hard freezes the PC and no BSOD is generated, so it is really impossible to troubleshoot the exact cause, even event viewer gives no clue other than that the system was shut down dirty, yes because I had no other choice
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matrox_Support_Sam
(Moderator)

Site Admin


Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 6879

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the update antonsvideo. At the moment, we do not have this specific motherboard in house, therefore, we cannot confirm where the problem is coming from.

If possible, please use the working motherboard until we get any further information.
_________________
Regards,
Sam
Matrox Video Technical Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
antonsvideo
(MXO2)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 4:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can report a new observation

when the PC locks up with no more keyboard and mouse and I turn off the MXO2 breakout box, the PC immediately goes to restart

so the MXO2 power button acts as a restart button, very strange
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
antonsvideo
(MXO2)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2015 11:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have finally replaced the mobo with X99 2011-v3 and i75960X processor and it works fine with utilities 7.72

When I test utilities 8, EDIUS no longer starts and causes crash during startup

can you confirm that utilities 8 is meant to work in Win7/64 Sp1?

I have since reverted to 7.72 and all is well
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matrox_Support_Sam
(Moderator)

Site Admin


Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 6879

PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2015 9:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great to hear the new motherboard is working.

The MXO2 8.0 drivers support both Windows 7 64-bit SP1 and Windows 8.1 64-bit. Can you confirm the Edius version?

Can you make sure to uninstall and reinstall the Matrox drivers accordingly?
When installing the Mtx.utils, please follow the steps below:
- uninstall the current MXO2 drivers
- download and right-click the Mtx.utils exe file and select Properties. Under the General tab, click unblock (at the bottom) if it is seen.
- Make sure the UAC option is turned off (set to Never Notify in Windows settings) before running the MXO2 setup * may need to reboot
To disable UAC option or set it to Never Notify in Windows , please follow this link: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/975787
- Run Mtx.utils setup and then make sure a full reboot and power cycle is performed (after install is complete, shutdown PC, disconnect MXO2 power for several seconds, reconnect power of MXO2 and then power up the PC)
- re-enable UAC option if needed
_________________
Regards,
Sam
Matrox Video Technical Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
antonsvideo
(MXO2)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 7:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have EDIUS 7.5 (I also tested with EDIUS 8, same result)

I have UAC disabled by default

I did all you say except remove power for some time from the MXO2

in any case, it works with any prior driver, that is the main thing, I am almost sure there is no gain for Win7 users by installing version8 utilities, please confirm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matrox_Support_Sam
(Moderator)

Site Admin


Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 6879

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 9:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

After speaking with our product manager, Edius will not work with latest Mtx.utils 8.0 since it has not been compiled by GrassValley. This would have to be done on their end.

You can either work with 7.7.2 on Edius or contact GrassValley for further information regarding 8.0 driver compliation to work with Edius.

The 7.7.2 drivers can be used if you do not need to update 8.0, which provides support for Windows 8.1 64-bit and Adobe CC 2015.
Here is our Supported Applications list for 8.0: http://www.matrox.com/video/media/pdf/support/windows/mxo2/doc/en_Matrox_MXO2_Supported_OS_and_Applications_8_0.pdf
_________________
Regards,
Sam
Matrox Video Technical Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
antonsvideo
(MXO2)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2015 12:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks, I am on to GV about it

meanwhile, 7.72 work fine as long as I use Win7
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Matrox MXO User Forum Forum Index -> MXO2 Family and Mojito MAX with previous versions of Adobe & other supported software (Windows) All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

This board is protected by Phpbbantispam
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group