Matrox MXO User Forum Forum Index

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch         RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

MXO2 causes hard crash during capture
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Matrox MXO User Forum Forum Index -> MXO2 Family and Mojito MAX with previous versions of Adobe & other supported software (Windows)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
antonsvideo
(MXO2)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed Dec 10, 2014 6:25 pm    Post subject: MXO2 causes hard crash during capture Reply with quote

a few minutes into capture component or S-Video or SDI using utilities 7.7, the PC hard crashes, no keyboard, no mouse, have to hold power for 6 sec to reboot

screenshot of error
http://www.videoproductions.com.au/edius70/matrox-crash.jpg

I am capturing to a fast Raid consisting of 4 x 2TB WD enterprise RE4 drives

Mobo is Asrock x79 Extreme 11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andrew Smith
(MXO2 with MAX)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 999

PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2014 1:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is this crash repeatable? Just wanting to make sure that it isn't an unfortunate one-off.

Andrew
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
antonsvideo
(MXO2)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2014 5:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it is repeatable in the following way:

1. when the PCIe interface card is located in PCIe slot 3, 4, 5 or 6, capture crashes and freezes PC within 20 seconds

2. when the PCIe interface card is locates in slot2, just below the graphics card, I can captuer 30-40min with either Matrox tools or EDIUS 7.41 before the hard freeze happens

so I guess my mobo is not compatible
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andrew Smith
(MXO2 with MAX)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 999

PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2014 7:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you previously been able to capture properly with this particular computer setup?

Andrew
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matrox_Support_Sam
(Moderator)

Site Admin


Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 6879

PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2014 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi antonsvideo,

What is your OS version?
Are you running latest Windows updates, BIOS, chipset, audio, and graphic card drivers?

What is your graphic card model? Do you have multiple graphic cards?
Do you have any other hardware installed on the ASUS motherboard?

Was this MXO2 working on a different motherboard?
Here is a list of Matrox tested systems and System Requirements:
http://www.matrox.com/video/en/support/mxo2/system/computers/pc/7.7/
http://www.matrox.com/video/en/support/mxo2/system/requirements/#pc

What is the capture codec and data rate you are capturing?
Can you try capturing to a different drive? Ex. as a small test, local C:\ or OS drive?

We await your results.
_________________
Regards,
Sam
Matrox Video Technical Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
antonsvideo
(MXO2)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2014 5:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Matrox_Support_Sam wrote:
Hi antonsvideo,

What is your OS version?
Are you running latest Windows updates, BIOS, chipset, audio, and graphic card drivers?

What is your graphic card model? Do you have multiple graphic cards?
Do you have any other hardware installed on the ASUS motherboard?

Was this MXO2 working on a different motherboard?
Here is a list of Matrox tested systems and System Requirements:
http://www.matrox.com/video/en/support/mxo2/system/computers/pc/7.7/
http://www.matrox.com/video/en/support/mxo2/system/requirements/#pc

What is the capture codec and data rate you are capturing?
Can you try capturing to a different drive? Ex. as a small test, local C:\ or OS drive?

We await your results.


I thought it always worked well because I never captured more than 30min before, until now when I have to capture lots of long VHS tapes

I am using Win7/64 all up do date, no anti virus software sine PC is notr used for email or browsing

using the Asrock X79 Extreme11 which only has 6x PCIe3 slots at 16x each
http://asrock.com/mb/Intel/X79%20Extreme11/index.us.asp

PCIe2 slot is the only slot where I can capture more than 30min before the hard freeze, all other slots allow me to capture less than 20sec

I am using the Nvidia Quadro K4000

the only other card in the PC is the Adaptec Raid card where my video Raid5 is connected. I may remove this card and try and capture to another internal drive

however, I also tried capturing to the internal single Sata storage drive and it also gave the hard freeze

I tried the standard Matrox I frame capture with 50mb/sec using AV tools and I also tried Canopus HQ Fine with EDIUS
http://www.videoproductions.com.au/mxo2/xinfo1.png
http://www.videoproductions.com.au/mxo2/xinfo2.png
http://www.videoproductions.com.au/mxo2/xinfo3.png
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andrew Smith
(MXO2 with MAX)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 999

PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2014 6:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My thinking is that the motherboard may not quite be up to spec, or something similar. The VideoGuys.com DIY Guide series of articles is invaluable for just that reason.

It's never straight forward with computer hardware when it comes to something as taxing as video work ... plenty of things can catch you out and it only takes one.

Sam will assist you the rest of the way with this.

Andrew
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
antonsvideo
(MXO2)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2014 9:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have now removed the RAID card as this was the only other card in the whole PC

after a few min it hard crashed, no mouse or keyboard, following oncreen info
http://www.videoproductions.com.au/mxo2/P1080511.jpg

and here are the crash dump files it generated
http://www.videoproductions.com.au/MatroxVideo/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matrox_Support_Sam
(Moderator)

Site Admin


Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 6879

PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2014 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the details antonsvideo. You do not need to necessarily insert Matrox PCIe card into a PCIe slot x16. It can be inserted into a x1 slot as well.

To confirm, the Matrox in PCIe2 slot works? You can capture indefinitely with no crash?

Thank you for the screenshots and log files. We will pass them to our engineering department for further investigation. However, at this point, it does seem to be an incompatibility with the motherboard.
_________________
Regards,
Sam
Matrox Video Technical Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matrox_Support_Sam
(Moderator)

Site Admin


Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 6879

PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2014 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also, can you try setting the AV tools Video Capture Settings to Consumer-quality Source for the Input Type?
_________________
Regards,
Sam
Matrox Video Technical Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
antonsvideo
(MXO2)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2014 4:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Matrox_Support_Sam wrote:
Also, can you try setting the AV tools Video Capture Settings to Consumer-quality Source for the Input Type?


the source is a pro deck with TBC, the signal is totally stable

I tried Betacam SP via component = crashes
S-Video via Sony SVO-5800 = crashes
Sony PMW-400 XDCAM via SDI = crashes

I think my mobo is not suitable, even though it is the top of the range from the Asrock boards

I am trying another manufacturers capture card next week and if it also fails, I know for sure I need another mobo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matrox_Support_Sam
(Moderator)

Site Admin


Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 6879

PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2014 4:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To confirm, you tried Setting Consumer-Quality source and still got crashes?

Please let us know your results.
_________________
Regards,
Sam
Matrox Video Technical Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
antonsvideo
(MXO2)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2014 10:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I enabled the consumer setting and it asked me to restart the application
http://www.videoproductions.com.au/mxo2/mxo2-1.png

upon restart, it claims I have no Max option installed, I never bought a Max option, should I have?

I will reboot PC and test that again
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andrew Smith
(MXO2 with MAX)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 999

PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2014 11:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

From the X-info screen shots that you posted earlier, I noted that you don't have the Max option in your MXO2 device.

You can safely ignore the alert, unless it's somehow due to the driver version being for a Max version of the MXO2 ... which would be interesting.

Andrew
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
antonsvideo
(MXO2)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2014 11:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have now got it to stick on consumer type and it captured 1 hour and 10min before PC freeze

then I forced a reboot after moving the card to another PCIe slot and tested capture again with consumer type and it froze after 3min 11sec, see following error on screenshot
http://www.videoproductions.com.au/mxo2/mxo2-2.jpg

no mouse or keyboard action is available
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Matrox MXO User Forum Forum Index -> MXO2 Family and Mojito MAX with previous versions of Adobe & other supported software (Windows) All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

This board is protected by Phpbbantispam
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group