Matrox MXO User Forum Forum Index

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch         RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

mx02 rack 50 fps to 25
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Matrox MXO User Forum Forum Index -> MXO2 Family and Mojito MAX with Adobe CC 2014 (Mac)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nvanhaute
(MXO2 Rack)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat Sep 21, 2013 4:10 am    Post subject: mx02 rack 50 fps to 25 Reply with quote

hi,

I use mx02 rack
my source is panasonic cam in 720p 50
I use FMLE (mac) to stream the output from mx02
I selected in mx02 settings 720p 25 cause FMLE doesn't support 50 fps
but result is not great (before encoding) : video not very smooth, movements are a bit jerky

what do you advise me to get something smoother and not jerky ?
my source can send in 1080i 50 if that can help.

best regards


Nicolas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matrox_Support_Sam
(Moderator)

Site Admin


Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 6881

PostPosted: Mon Sep 23, 2013 9:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Nicolas,

What is your MXO2 version and OSX update?

What version of FMLE are you running?

Have you tried selecting the Deinterlace option in FMLE?

Have you tried selecting MXO2 720p50 YUV 8-bit in FMLE Video Device, while keeping frame rate at 25?

Please try 1080i50 source with 1080i50 MXO2 settings in FMLE and select 25 frame rate. See if this helps.

Please also specify your FMLE settings for Input Size, Bit Rate and Output Size.
_________________
Regards,
Sam
Matrox Video Technical Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nvanhaute
(MXO2 Rack)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon Sep 23, 2013 9:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi

>What is your MXO2 version and OSX update?
=> 2.6.1.0001 mx02 rack and OSX 10.8.4

>What version of FMLE are you running?
=> 3.2 (last)

>Have you tried selecting the Deinterlace option in FMLE?
=> my cam sends in 720p 50 so no need to deinterlace
of course if I use 1080i 50, I need to check it but result is not great

>Have you tried selecting MXO2 720p50 YUV 8-bit in FMLE Video Device, while keeping frame rate at 25?
=> yes and it's not better

>Please try 1080i50 source with 1080i50 MXO2 settings in FMLE and select 25 frame rate. See if this helps.
=> will check that but for sure I will need to deinterlace and FMLE is not great to do that

>Please also specify your FMLE settings for Input Size, Bit Rate and Output Size.
=> when 720p 50 from cam, I put FMLE to 720p25 YUV 8-bit, 2500 Kbps, output size same as original (720p)

Nicolas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matrox_Support_Sam
(Moderator)

Site Admin


Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 6881

PostPosted: Mon Sep 23, 2013 10:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please try using 1080i25 as source and Video settings in FMLE as some users have it working well with this configuration. You can try with and without deinterlace option to see which works best.

If possible, you can try Wirecast for streaming. Many users have had no issues with previewing in Wirecast with MXO2.
_________________
Regards,
Sam
Matrox Video Technical Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nvanhaute
(MXO2 Rack)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon Sep 23, 2013 11:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

my main issue I think is that all my cams can push in : 1080i 50 and 720p 50... nothing else

that's why I have problem because in FMLE they don't have 50 fps in settings

I already tried wirecast in putting 50 fps but I'm sure it can't do it, result was not better

so I'm a bit lost about how to improve the thing with mx02

if you have a better idea ?

thanks


Nicolas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matrox_Support_Sam
(Moderator)

Site Admin


Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 6881

PostPosted: Mon Sep 23, 2013 12:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Nicolas,

To confirm have you tried the 1080i25 camera source? Are you experiencing the same issue as 720p?

Can you confirm your FMLE version? ie 3.2.1.1122?
Have you tried redownloading or reinstalling the MXO2 software?

What is the Source device you are using? ie camera model?
Are you selecting a Matrox 10-bit preset in FMLE Device Format?

What are your FMLE settings for both Video and Audio?
ie Video Device, Format, Frame Rate, Input Size, Bit Rate
ie Audio Format, Channel, Sample Rate, Bit Rate etc...

In MXO2 preference pane, are you selecting Scale on capture for A/V input?

Does the Input Frame Size and Output Frame Size match in FMLE?

Please let us know your results.
_________________
Regards,
Sam
Matrox Video Technical Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nvanhaute
(MXO2 Rack)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon Sep 23, 2013 12:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To confirm have you tried the 1080i25 camera source? Are you experiencing the same issue as 720p?
=> sorry I have no 1080i 25 cam

Can you confirm your FMLE version? ie 3.2.1.1122?
=> yes
Have you tried redownloading or reinstalling the MXO2 software?
=> yes

What is the Source device you are using? ie camera model?
HD-SDI panasonic cam aws-he50se
Are you selecting a Matrox 10-bit preset in FMLE Device Format?
=> nope only 8 bits

What are your FMLE settings for both Video and Audio?
ie Video Device, Format, Frame Rate, Input Size, Bit Rate
ie Audio Format, Channel, Sample Rate, Bit Rate etc...
=> mx02 720p 25fps, h264, 25 fps, 720p, 2500 Kbps
no audio for the moment but it doesn't change result

In MXO2 preference pane, are you selecting Scale on capture for A/V input?
=> nope

Does the Input Frame Size and Output Frame Size match in FMLE?
=> yes both in 1280x720 (720p)

Nicolas


Last edited by nvanhaute on Mon Sep 23, 2013 12:30 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matrox_Support_Sam
(Moderator)

Site Admin


Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 6881

PostPosted: Mon Sep 23, 2013 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, i meant 1080i50. In this post, the user mentions his 1080i50 source works for FMLE using 25 frame rate: http://forum.matrox.com/mxo/viewtopic.php?t=8579&highlight=fmle
Quote:
Setting the cameras to output 1080i 50 and the frame rate in FMLE to 25fps also seemed to work. That seems like its the only way to get 25fps at the moment with FMLE.

Have you tried this? Please confirm.

Have you tried both VP6 and H.264 encoding settings?

Please also answer the inquiries mentioned in previous posting:
Quote:
Can you confirm your FMLE version? ie 3.2.1.1122?
Have you tried redownloading or reinstalling the MXO2 software?

What is the Source device you are using? ie camera model?
Are you selecting a Matrox 10-bit preset in FMLE Device Format?

What are your FMLE settings for both Video and Audio?
ie Video Device, Format, Frame Rate, Input Size, Bit Rate
ie Audio Format, Channel, Sample Rate, Bit Rate etc...

In MXO2 preference pane, are you selecting Scale on capture for A/V input?

Does the Input Frame Size and Output Frame Size match in FMLE?

_________________
Regards,
Sam
Matrox Video Technical Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nvanhaute
(MXO2 Rack)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon Sep 23, 2013 12:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Setting the cameras to output 1080i 50 and the frame rate in FMLE to 25fps also seemed to work. That seems like its the only way to get 25fps at the moment with FMLE.


I did not say it doesn't work... just that result is not great, maybe it's juste because of these 25 fps
I'm waiting to use a better encoder that can manage 720p 50 fps

Nicolas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matrox_Support_Sam
(Moderator)

Site Admin


Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 6881

PostPosted: Mon Sep 23, 2013 12:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When viewing the streaming file, do you view it directly from MXO2 output to a monitor? What are the MXO2 Output Preferences in Video Output pane? ie Follow Application, HDMI

How does the actual uploaded streaming look on your server site? Same jittery crawl?

Do the preview windows in FMLE have the same jittery issue?
_________________
Regards,
Sam
Matrox Video Technical Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nvanhaute
(MXO2 Rack)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon Sep 23, 2013 1:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Matrox_Support_Sam wrote:
When viewing the streaming file, do you view it directly from MXO2 output to a monitor? What are the MXO2 Output Preferences in Video Output pane? ie Follow Application, HDMI

How does the actual uploaded streaming look on your server site? Same jittery crawl?

Do the preview windows in FMLE have the same jittery issue?



I have a monitor which shows me matrox output
MX output pref is follow application
on server aide, yep jittery
yes in fmle video seems to be jittery (input)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matrox_Support_Sam
(Moderator)

Site Admin


Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 6881

PostPosted: Mon Sep 23, 2013 1:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To confirm, does the MXO2 output to your monitor jitter while previewing FMLE stream?

I have found an Adobe FMLE FAQ which could be helpful. Here is an Adobe link which might be helpful. http://www.adobe.com/ca/products/flash-media-encoder/faq.html#integration
Read heading: Why am I getting jittery video? Jittery video occurs if the subscriber buffer empties. Change the buffer size of the subscriber to a non-zero value.

Also, verify question: Why is the video preview flickering? http://www.adobe.com/ca/products/flash-media-encoder/faq.html#basic Check the graphics card settings.

In addition, mentioned from the link above, Flash Media Live Encoder is dropping too many video frames. What should I do? Make sure the CPU usage of the encoding computer does not exceed 75%. If it does, try increasing the video bitrate or decreasing the video size or frame rate.

Please let us know if this helps.
_________________
Regards,
Sam
Matrox Video Technical Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nvanhaute
(MXO2 Rack)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2013 1:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Matrox_Support_Sam wrote:
To confirm, does the MXO2 output to your monitor jitter while previewing FMLE stream?


on the monitor all is great... but the input inside FMLE is not exactly the same

I tried as requested to put cam in 1080i 50 then in FMLE 1080i 50 for device and input size 1280x720 and output 1280x720 and 25 fps
it seems better but now the issue is interlacing, even in adding "deinterlace" option in FMLE, we can see "lines" while movements.

I think, I have to wait to encode with all the same settings on the full link
=> 720p50 from cam, 720p50 from matrox..; and encode in 720p50

Nicolas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matrox_Support_Sam
(Moderator)

Site Admin


Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 6881

PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2013 9:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Nicolas,

If the MXO2 output is fine and only FMLE preview is not good, then the issue is related to FMLE application.

Have you tried setting Input and Output Size in FMLE to an interlaced format and not a 720p format? ie such as PAL or 1080i
The conversion from interlaced to progressive formats is possibly causing the jitter/interlacing issue you are seeing.

You can also contact Adobe technical support for further information regarding FMLE settings/issues.
_________________
Regards,
Sam
Matrox Video Technical Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nvanhaute
(MXO2 Rack)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2013 9:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Matrox_Support_Sam wrote:
Hi Nicolas,

If the MXO2 output is fine and only FMLE preview is not good, then the issue is related to FMLE application.

Have you tried setting Input and Output Size in FMLE to an interlaced format and not a 720p format? ie such as PAL or 1080i

yes as I said before, in putting 1080i 50, as "i 50" is equal to 25 fps in reality
result is a bit better

Quote:
The conversion from interlaced to progressive formats is possibly causing the jitter/interlacing issue you are seeing.

yes that's whay I hope to get a much better result with an other encoder (hardware) + that can encode in 720p50 ... so same as source


Quote:
You can also contact Adobe technical support for further information regarding FMLE settings/issues.

forget that, FMLE is dead, I got confirmation from adobe team : no more updates or bug fixed

Nicolas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Matrox MXO User Forum Forum Index -> MXO2 Family and Mojito MAX with Adobe CC 2014 (Mac) All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

This board is protected by Phpbbantispam
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group