Matrox MXO User Forum Forum Index

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch         RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Mxo2 and macbook pro

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Matrox MXO User Forum Forum Index -> Pre-Purchase for Matrox MXO2, MXO2 LE and MXO2 Rack
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Enricox
(MXO)

Guest





PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2008 11:28 am    Post subject: Mxo2 and macbook pro Reply with quote

Hello
One of the last questions I will post...

For Betacam and Digital betacam what will be the codec used in the mac? 8 or 10 bit uncompressed? is the macbook pro enough powerful to do it on it's own? I read that it cannot process apple pro res 422 on the macbook pro in real time...
So what will be the codec used for higher end SD material or HD on macbook pro?
Back to top
Customer_Care_Bassel
(Moderator)

Site Admin


Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 582

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Enricox,

You can basically capture to any codec, however the ProRes or ProRes HQ is what is recommended by Apple. As for 8bit vs. 10bit; its strictly up to you and your computer limitations.
As was previously mentioned in other posts on this forum, the current generation of MacBook Pros cannot handle ProRes capture in HD, however, they can handle DVCPRO HD.

So for your MacBook Pro:

- For HD --> You can use DVCPRO HD
- For SD --> You can use whatever codec you wish to use, your laptop can handle it.


Regards,
B.C.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
enricox
(MXO)

Guest





PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 3:10 pm    Post subject: perfect Reply with quote

That's perfect, so my Macbook pro Intel core duo 2.16 Ghz 17inch with ATY radeon X1600 is able to capture any SD material to any codec, and HD material to DVCproHD with no problems. It's been checked.

Right?
Back to top
Customer_Care_Bassel
(Moderator)

Site Admin


Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 582

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Enricox, we've tested this using a 2.4 GHz (or faster) Core2 Duo CPU with no problem.

Thanks,
B.C.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
from Italy
(MXO)

Guest





PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2008 4:57 am    Post subject: tests Reply with quote

There will be any further tests for machines that have specs of my type?

Is there any user that has done a test of this kind? Please share your knowledge...... Need to take a decision.

I found no indipendent reviews yet on Matrox mxo2, do you people know any?

Thanks
Back to top
Customer_Care_Bassel
(Moderator)

Site Admin


Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 582

PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2008 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,


There will always be on going testing with the MXO2, however most of our current tests are with 2.4GHz and faster. But once the MXO2 is released to the market and we start establishing a user-community on this forum, I’m sure that they will start sharing their experiences with us. As for now, please check these pages soon for any future updates:

http://www.matrox.com/video/en/products/mxo2/faqs/
http://www.matrox.com/video/en/products/mxo2/


Please check this page for more details about the MXO2 awards and reviews:
http://www.matrox.com/video/en/press/editorial/mxo2/#dv


Thanks,
B.C.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Matrox MXO User Forum Forum Index -> Pre-Purchase for Matrox MXO2, MXO2 LE and MXO2 Rack All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

This board is protected by Phpbbantispam
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group