Matrox MXO User Forum Forum Index

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch         RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Avid MC 6.01 Can't see MAX H264 setting in Quicktime Export

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Matrox MXO User Forum Forum Index -> MXO2 Family and Mojito MAX with Avid Media Composer Family (Mac)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
andypatv
(MXO2 with MAX)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 7:44 am    Post subject: Avid MC 6.01 Can't see MAX H264 setting in Quicktime Export Reply with quote

Having done a clean install of lion. Added Avid 6.01 Installed MXO2 max utilities v 3.0 for lion and Avid 6. I have successfully connected too and used used the MX02 max with avid, through multiple inputs and outputs.

The problem I'm having is there seems to be no option in the quicktime export formats to output using the MAX technology.

Matrox utilities states
MAX compression device is present.
Software 3.0.0.0071 and firmware 34.0

I have uninstalled and reinstalled Matrox utilities and no option appeared.

Figure I may have missed a step in installation. Can anyone suggest anything I may have not done that would stop the quicktime component being available as an option?

Thanks for any help you can give.

System set up if required:

Mac Pro 2x 2.66 Quad with 6GB Ram
OSX Lion 10.7.3
Matrox MX02 Max
QT player v 10.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matrox_Support_Sam
(Moderator)

Site Admin


Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 6881

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 11:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

As mentioned in our User Guide on page 82 and 83, please try the following:
http://www.matrox.com/video/media/pdf/support/mxo2/doc/en_Matrox_MXO2_Installation_and_User_Guide_3_0.pdf

1 Open Avid Media Composer, and open the project that you want to export.
2 Choose File > Export.
3 In the Export As window, select Untitled from the Export setting list, and
then click Options.
4 In the Export Settings window, select QuickTime Movie from the Export As list.
5 Select Custom, and then click Format Options.
6 In the Movie Settings window, under Video, click Settings.
7 From the Compression Type menu, select Matrox MAX H.264.

Please let us know if this helps.
_________________
Regards,
Sam
Matrox Video Technical Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andypatv
(MXO2 with MAX)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Sam,

Have followed it to the word twice before uninstalling the Matrox utilities. reinstalling rebooting and have tried it once since.

As mentioned it works great right up to the point where there is no Matrox MAX H.264 option in my QT options.

Just the standard avid array of quicktime codecs, standard h264, animation. Nothing that mentions Matrox.

Is there a location on the HDD I can check to see if the files have installed correctly that enable the quicktime option?

Thanks again,

Andy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matrox_Support_Sam
(Moderator)

Site Admin


Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 6881

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 12:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Andy,

Can you confirm or re-download the MXO2 with MAX drivers were download from the Download Wizard? Can you confirm the red light in front of the MXO2 unit is solid? Not blinking or fading?

After download, please also verify the size of the downloaded file. ie.Matrox_MXO2_MAX_version_3.0.dmg (November 15, 12.6 MB)

We want to make sure the MAX version of the MXO2 software was fully downloaded in case of corruption during download process.
_________________
Regards,
Sam
Matrox Video Technical Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andypatv
(MXO2 with MAX)




Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Sam,

Spot on. My download was 2mb short.

I'm surprised it actually installed and ask to reboot at the end given it was obviously not all there, but there you go.

Have re-downloaded and problem is resolved

Thanks for the help.

Off the track of the thread, but only a quick question.

is it true that Avid have not let third party devices use audio punch in?

I was trying to do it just now and it's greyed out. Felt silly to have to get the m-audio fast track unit out. When I have a mixing desk and a xlr input on the matrox mx02?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matrox_Support_Sam
(Moderator)

Site Admin


Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 6881

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 3:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the update and glad to hear it is now working!

Yes, this is correct. The Audio Punch-In functionality does not work with 3rd-party IO devices: http://avid.custkb.com/avid/app/selfservice/search.jsp?DocId=422991

Hope this helps.
_________________
Regards,
Sam
Matrox Video Technical Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Matrox MXO User Forum Forum Index -> MXO2 Family and Mojito MAX with Avid Media Composer Family (Mac) All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

This board is protected by Phpbbantispam
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group